View Through My Lens...

By boyzee

Farewell '39'

The Defence cuts announced today have announced that the Regiment which I call my own is to be cut from the British Army's Order of Battle.

Farewell 39th Regiment Royal Artillery - it was an honour and a pleasure to serve as one of your number and to lead to some of your outstanding officers and soldiers through the good times and the difficult.

My personal highlight - commanding my Battery in role on operations in Afghanistan in 2007/2008 as part of 52 Infantry Brigade on Operation Herrick 7. The painting on the right in this picture depicts my battery engaging the Taliban for the first time on 18 October 2007 in support of 40 Commando Royal Marines operating in and around the Kajaki Dam, Helmand Province, Southern Afghanistan. Our moment in the spot light...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.