Wherever next?

By aime

It's not about the destination...

After leaving our room with a view (over Queenstown and Lake Wakatipu) we meandered up to the Gondolas for a trip up one of the nearby hills. Lots of discussion about which ticket to buy - some wished to "luge" around the  top of the hill, Ali and I decided we would be the official photographers for the rest.
It looked great fun but Ally and I were quite content with watching and photographing. When the others came back it was clear that  they were very keen for me to try paragliding (I had stupidly mentioned that I would have loved to have a try). They were serious and unbelievably so was I. We both called each others bluff and before I knew it I was walking up the hill behind "Chris from Switzerland" who looked very like our chum Bob Soutter with a nose job and was equally laid back so I felt quite relaxed, it was after all "Bob's Peak."
What can I say about it? Nothing that you would understand - unless you might be willing to give it a shot yourself. You just have to try it!
It was stunning weather in a wonderful setting and I felt very privileged to be experiencing the moment from on high.
…it's all about the journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.