Thursday: The Battle of Algiers

It is 50 years this year since Algeria gained independence (I must confess I didn't know that until last week) so tonight the Algerian Embassy had a reception followed by a showing of the classic film, 'The Battle of Algiers' (which, I will also confess, I hadn't heard of until last week).  The film seems to have been pretty well received in its time.

I am not sure how accurate the film was but it made me realise how little I know about that chapter of history.

This was the cinema where it was held which is also advertising the current film festival, Fantastic Zagreb, which, I think is a bit of science fiction and fantasy.  We would have loved to see some of the films but it is only on for a week and this week has just not been possible.  That said, there hardly seems to be a week here when there isn't some film or arts festival on.  

177

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.