Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award Presentation

Today I was at Holyrood Palace Gardens receiving my Gold DofE Award with mum and Grandpa. Prince Philip didn't actually give out all the certificates you'll be glad to hear. My group were presented ours by Scottish radio/TV personality Kaye Adams and others had the likes of Karen Dunbar and Amy MacDonald. I did get the chance to talk to HRH though as he impressively worked his way round to chat to all the groups. Finlay and I were explaining why we chose to canoe the Caledonian Canal for our final expedition and not a river - which is a lot easier - because at the time there was no water in the Spey, our original route. I can tick meeting a member of the royal family off my to do list now. It was a great day. It was so lovely meeting up with some school friends again and we all got to dress up. Plus it didn't rain! Apparently we weren't that far away from the Queen herself and Will and Kate. I just missed seeing them drive down the Royal Mile :/

In the evening I went to the team meeting for the SU Junior Music Camp that I'll be leading at in a week or so, conveniently in Edinburgh - although I was a little overdressed! I've loved being a camper at the Senior Camp for the last few years so it'll be exciting being there in a different role.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.