Wednesday: Victoria Street

In addition to my principle reason for being here, I had a couple of other meetings, all rather oddly spaced during the day. It did mean that I could spend a bit of time in a coffee shop this morning, reading Patti Smith's 'M Train'. I am already completely sucked in.

The woman ahead of me in the coffee shop, an Australian tourist, I think, ordered the most extreme drink I have ever seen. There was not one millimetre that wasn't covered in squirty cream, marshmallows, sprinkles or chocolate. I can't decide whether my green tea felt inadequate or virtuous.

This evening I met up with my friend, Wendy. We went to 'Jamie's Kitchen' on Victoria Street. It was great to catch up.

I am a bit horrified as to the amount of building work going on in central London. Huge parts of it, around Leicester Square, South Bank, St James', have been pulled down. I am worried that one day I will come back and won't recognise anything. Not to mention all the old family-run businesses that have disappeared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.