Christmas Eve

So it started with a blip, locking the Christmas dinner in the boot.....along with my car keys. What with the world afloat with Storm Frank this wasn't exactly a big deal in the whole scheme of things, but I confess I did call the 4th emergency service....my mum. Who picked up the stranded kids in oldmeldrum and her stranded daughter in Inverurie.Thanks Mum. I even waited in Inverurie Garden Centre for her to arrive. I may have went to the cafe. I may have engaged in solo cake eating. Maybe.

25 years ago I didn't lock the dinner in the boot, but I did seal the deal with Dave with our first kiss on a snowy street. And now here we are all these years later, not yet having murdered each other or become hairy nuns. The miracle of Christmas.

No Christmas Eve cinema trip for us this year, just some very excited kids...and parents.....and cat....and dog. Tess and pet Santa letters were sent up the Chimney and Rudolph's carrot was hurled into the darkness. No matter the kids ages, carrots will always be hurled outside the backie on Christmas Eve. One day we might even knock that old sledge out of the sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.