I saw three ships come sailing by

Sing it every year as we drive into the city and see the boats out at sea, just so they can shout at me to stop if i'm honest. Wouldn't be Christmas without that well worn exchange.

They slept late, enough for me to relight the fire and candles and get Santa Central warm and cosy. And then they were suddenly up for the manic present opening frenzy. I like to sit and watch as they open each prezzie, relief all round this year as the presents were all met with delight (except, note to self, Tess should buy her own clothes, the days of her mothers choices being the same tastes as her daughters are long gone). Dave got me a winning present. I can blip again! Result!

A wee visit in to Bridge of Don at my sisters for some bubbly and snackettes and more present giving. I get most excited about giving presents to other people at Christmas, trying to think about their personalities and what would be a winner. Not a perfect science. I knew I'd nailed it for mum and dad this year though. The Great Scottish cake off. 10 gift vouchers for garden centres all around the north east of Scotland, to bankroll their tea and cake tours for the next year hopefully.

Back home to Kingseat, the wolfhound and the fur ball and for the first year ever, the four of us had Christmas dinner at home on our own. Felt just right. Meant we could both have a wee toast or two and sloth around in our PJs afterwards. Brief evening visit from Mum and Dad to see how the kids were doing and then it was a weary but very happy to bed. But only after Tess and I watched call the Midwife and Downton (of course!) Sam built the Lego millennium falcon and Dave went for his daily computer fix.

Merry Christmas Sam and Tess!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.