The Way of Colour

By Beachcomber149

Arbroath harbour for a change

We needed some milk this morning, so Maeve the Deerhound and I jumped in the car and on a whim went off to Arbroath harbour.
I parked the car by the side of the inner harbour and we had a wander around. The harbour has a lock gate to the inner basin/marina with a footbridge over the top, so we were able to stroll right round and have a look at all the boats, and all of the things to do with fishing and boaty activity that I like to photograph. We even remembered to stop on the way home and buy some milk !

When we arrived home I decided that we should have our walk before lunch in case it got as warm as yesterday. We followed our usual route out into the country and down the bridle path and got much better views out to sea today as the haar has receded much further today. We could even see a couple of ships sailing northwards, but weren't able to see as far as the Bell Rock lighthouse. Since I had some shots 'in the bag' we didn't go over the level crossing, or over the road bridge to Westhaven and the Fishermen's huts. Sensible decision to have the walk early I think as Maeve was panting a bit by the time we got back. Much faster recovery though, without a whole bowl of fresh water or much happy groaning in a shady room ! Spoiled rotten ? Probably :-)

From all the harbour shots (some on overflow blog) I have chosen this string of the rubbery floats which I think help hold open a fishing trawl out at sea. Just because it gives today's blip a different dominant colour. As good a reason as any :-)

Maeve is looking forward to a nice cool afternoon indoors. Me ... I am mowing the front lawn, grumble oh joy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.