Friday: Food Traditions

Today's blip is about food traditions at work. Friday is burek day. Burek is a very fine local dish, in essence flaky pastry stuffed with either cheese or meat. Here is mine, balanced on two yoghurt pots as Damir, who went to collect them, wanted to make sure it was separate. Everyone else has cheese, but I have meat (apparently very Bosnian).

I have other nice memories of food traditions at work. When I first started working in London, I used to do the bacon buttie run for the office in the morning. In South Africa, we were all addicted to chicken mayonnaise sandwiches from the Greek Cypriots down the road (and you haven't had chicken mayonnaise until you have had it in South Africa. It is the best I have ever tasted). In Bangladesh, we used to send out for samosas from the corner shop. I like to think of these experiences as soaking up the local culture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.