1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Watery Lane

The area where the stables of my morning job is, is notorious for flooding - it's not for nothing it's called Watery Lane! In 2014 some major flood defences were constructed and last year they seemed to work well, but the volume of rain has been too much this year and the roads finally flooded today. To be fair, it's not so much the rain filling up the river causing the floods as the sodden fields now unable to physically soak up any more water. This water was running off the fields alongside the lane, as it was further back along the road running at a right angle to this one, both of which I had driven along just before 8am without any problem. It was when I came to go home at 12.30pm that this caused me to take an alternative route. I didn't want the fire brigade to have to come back again to drag me out as they had already had to do that for the eegit that decided he could get through the flood further along. Someone took a photo before the emergency services arrived and I've shamelessly nicked it off the internet for my extra shot.

Luckily, although the fields are very soggy, the horses have still been able to get out for a while to stretch their legs. Lessons have been hit and miss though, as the rain showers have been heavy and accompanied by high winds. I changed my coat twice in the morning and then wore another one for the afternoon as although the rain stopped, the temperature dropped, so a more padded coat was needed.

Considered perhaps an office job wouldn't be such a bad thing ... But nah, I love the great outdoors!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.