Curves

Changing trains at York, once the largest station in the world.  The only photo I had the chance to take today.
Due to the long train journey via Carlisle I decided to return home via York as I did not relish another long bus journey in the dark.  However Sunday travel is often not a good idea and the train was diverted from Darlington to Newcastle via Hartlepool and Sunderland and so adding over an hour to the journey.   Even with a lift to the first station and then home from Edinburgh the journey was eight hours, yet by car we can do it in under four and a half hours driving time.
My frequent visits to care for my parents came to an end when my mother joined my father at the care home just before Christmas.  Unfortunately both had to attend hospital last week so we went to see how my mother was coping after a series of small strokes.  What a contrast since I’d seen her only 11 days before.  It is with sad hearts that although it greatly disrupted our lives, my sister and I can no longer give my mother the care and, more importantly, the companionship that we treasure over the last two years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.