Turning Out

Having taken the girls to SMH in order for N to have a scan I then went to Asda to pick up some essentials. Home then for lunch & afterwards I went over to see my Mum who is having a rummage sale in a couple of weeks. The car was well loaded & when I got there it rained like stink.

Sat drinking tea & eating hot cross buns when the door bell went & it was Judy Smith with a car load of junk. She didn't stay long but it was nice to see her after so many years. I went to school with her daughters Sally & Elizabeth.

After she had gone the phone went & Jill (down the road) said she would be there in ten minutes with more jumble. She stayed for 30 minutes & drank tea with us. She is off to the Dominican Republic next week for a holiday & so we talked about hols in general & I found a trip for mum to go on in May. She has been wanting to visit the Isle of Wight for years & has decided that she will go this year. She was going to book it as I left.

As usual i can never leave there empty handed & so I came home with two Hot X Buns and this old framed picture which shows The Plough PH in Merton, Oxfordshire. The picture was taken on 26 March 1930. At this time my Great Grandad Crawford kept the pub and soon after sold up & went into farming...Many old family members are still around in Merton & Charlton on Otmoor and the family still owns land in the vicinity though no longer farm it. I guess you would probably find more of us in Merton church yard than anywhere. 

I like to visit Merton & Charlton once a year & say hello to the ancestors & I am due there soon but it would be nice if it stopped raining.. 

Home now - & the bins are out.

Happy Wednesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.