CORVID WARS 2016 CAMPAIGN

This happens every year. A pair of magpies (I've tried to highlight them a bit… it's like Where's Wally) start investigating the tops of the trees across the road for a nesting site. Almost immediately, flocks of crows (or rooks?) turn up and a great deal of shouting and jostling ensues. I don't know where they come from because they're not usually around here. This attracts the gulls, who come and fly over them all squawking aggressively and eventually they all fly off. For the last few years none of the birds has nested in the trees, although the herring gulls nest on the roofs of the houses (including ours). I don't think they fancy the idea of magpies nesting so close to them, especially as they leave their chicks unattended for quite a long time.

I had hours of proofreading to catch up on today, so I was quite glad of an 'event' to blip from the window!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.