Spirals

Gertrude is roaring around, it's pretty grey and pretty damp but I continue to be most industrious and the holy well blog is taking shape. It's just my categories to sort now!

I hope to get it up and running on Monday which is of course St Bridget's Day and the first day of Spring! And yes, I want to get cracking with a St Bridget's well. I'm in the wrong county though, Kildare is her stamping ground, though I have managed to track down three possibles in County Cork - one nearish but quite tricky to get to as it's on private ground and the owner is hard to contact. I shall persevere.

I've had an idea too which I have shared with a couple of blippers and the excitement is mounting! I would like to issue a challenge for the month of February to see how many holy wells we can blip - worldwide!!! You may think there's nothing near you but I bet you would be surprised, they're everywhere, even in cities. There are 3000 in Ireland!  I know PaulaJ and Soletrader and Ceridwen have wells near them; and SarumStroller can't wait! I'll issue a formal challenge on monday - this is just a little taster!

Today's blip, back to the church . Frustratingly it's closed except for mass, but I liked the rather grubby colours and textures of a detail of the stained glass, taken from outside - full of spirals too just for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.