Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Gotcha!

Went out for an evening walk in the woods by the marsh.  With all the snow melted from our +6 C weather yesterday, it just seemed very muddy in the woods so I spent most of my time trying to photograph ducks in flight.  Such a difficult task as most of the ducks were content to simply huddle on the remaining ice.
I was scanning the crowd for my hybrid duck when I spotted this one amongst the Mallards...an American Black Duck.  I have likely seen oodles of them before but that would have been before I picked up my camera and started actively shooting birds. I am always amazed at how much more observant I am now.
After sitting on the rocks and waiting patiently, I was finally rewarded with this handsome guy/gal coming up on the rocks, too. My extra is a profile shot with a muddy beak.  Was trying to get selfie in his eye but I simply got the trees reflected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.