Lemon meringue pie

Today's the day ........................ to bake

For some unknown reason, I started thinking about my mother-in-law today.

And before I knew what I was doing, I was making a lemon meringue pie - one of her specialities.  She was a wonderful cook.  Nothing fancy - just good, honest, Welsh farmhouse fare - that was always mouth-wateringly delicious.  She was the one that taught me how to make pastry.  I have the recipe written in my cookery book while she gave me a demonstration.

She was a little hard to pin down sometimes on things like what temperature a cake/bread/biscuit should be baked at.  She would say things like, "Well if the Raeburn was like that - I'd put another log on .........." - and you would have to translate that into degrees Centigrade.  But I owe her a lot for all the things she taught me in the kitchen.

And not just in the kitchen.  She's been gone almost thirty years now, but my memories of her are as fresh and clear as if it were yesterday ......................... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.