Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Optical monogamy

I love prime lenses. This was taken with my 105mm Sigma, a macro lens that functions brilliantly as a long lens and is exceptionally good for portraits.

There is something about a prime that is almost mystical, the little bit of sharpness and the indefinably clever bokeh that zoom lenses don't seem to possess. I've actually got four of them; this one, a 35mm, a 50mm and a 300mm. They are all delightful to work with in their different ways. I have two camera bodies and would love to have two more; I doubt I'd ever change a lens again. My only longing is for a good 85mm - well, and maybe a 200mm as well. Always something to buy when you are into photography.

If you've only ever used a zoom, and spent your time sliding in and out of the range like a photographic lothario who will go anywhere, do anything, faithlessly, then you don't understand the lure of a prime. As well as it's inherent optical qualities, there is something about the fact that it forces you to learn to work with it, and accept it for what it is. It's a partnership. You can't just zoom in and out. You have to stay together. It's like a good relationship. The limitations on freedom are nothing compared to the joy of the quality of experience ...

Work was chaos today. Lots of people moving offices. And this is my week from hell, board papers and deadlines scattered across the week like mines on a battlefield. Miss one and ...

I'm being overly dramatic. But it will be tiring. Looking forward to the weekend, already ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.