Autumnal July

Today I walked along exactly the same stretch of canal as I walked yesterday.
Today was also 100% damp, like yesterday.
Today was pouring with rain.

This was taken whilst sheltering under this bridge.

And for the first time I noticed, low down on the stonework, the grooves worn into it. I am surprised that I have never noticed this before. I suppose it's because I don't usually stand for very long under this old bridge.
Today I did.

There were marks on either side of the bridge by the tow-path, but one side was more noticeable than the other. That's a lot of ropework having been towed passed this bridge.

Meanwhile, given the nature of the weather and colour of the skies today I decided that the only thing to do was to work with these colour tones.

I know this stretch of canal would look similar and yet different if I were able to place myself here in the year of 1812. How I would love to see it.

And yes, I know I've said it before on here... but can someone please build me a time machine... please...?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.