Ingleton

Ingleton is a funny old place. Driving through it on the A65 will give you completely the wrong impression as the town proper stretches off up to the north, and a quaint little place it is, too. Perfect for a potter around at the weekend, it also has the slightly strenuous waterfalls walk and the open air swimming pool. If I didn't live in Kirkby Lonsdale, I think I'd live here.

Back down at the bottom end, just on the southern side of the A65, is an industrial estate, which is where I went for my rescheduled meeting, today. These places are much of muchness, aren't they? Lots of fairly unglamorous buildings and never enough places to park. I had to leave the car about a hundred and fifty yards from where I was going, so I happened to walk pass this little bit of natural beauty tucked away amongst all of the prosaic constructions.

Actually, this industrial estate does have two little treasures. Firstly, Tooby's electrical store, which sells household appliances. I don't know how they stay in business, tucked away here, and with so much shopping done online, but they've been in these parts longer than I have and I always try to use them when I need anything for the house. The second shop is a mystery for precisely the same reasons, although its longevity is perhaps even more surprising. It's a high end kitchen shop, which I love but rarely buy from; I'm not a good enough cook to justify spending £80 on an omelet pan!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.