Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Boris and the cormorant

London again today and very lovely it was too,

Actually, I don't think I'm doing this project very intelligently, I should have had it all planned out before I started, going to a different piece of the river each time.  But I'm not.  Instead, today I decided to get to the top of the Monument and blip the river from there.  I've never been up it before.  Only ever seen it once on a previous trip 3 or 4 weeks ago.  So all new to me.

The Monument was put up to commemorate the rebuilding of the City of London after the Great Fire of 1666 (I'm reading a book on Charles II at the moment, so that fits nicely).  It was designed by Wren and Robert Hooke, both members of the embryonic Royal Society, and is 202ft high.  Its height matches the distance of the Monument from Pudding Lane, where the Fire is supposed to have started.  I climbed all 311 steps and took pictures through the mesh surrounding the viewing platform (see Extras).

However, in the end it was this wonderful cormorant standing on a (to me) strange wooden structure in the river between Monument and Tower Bridge who had to be my blip of the day.  His mates were along there too and behind him is the new City Hall, Mayor Boris Johnson's hangout.  You can see it better in the Extra, the rounded building behind HMS Belfast.

Okay, that's quite enough from me for now.  Choir tonight, so I shall probably comment in the morning.

Have a lovely evening, all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.