Artminx

By Artminx

Just being there

When I first left school I went Preston College to start an Art foundation course and to retake a few GCSE's that, much to the annoyance of my mother, I failed to turn up to at school. The college was some distance from my high school and if I remember rightly only one other student from my year enrolled on courses there, thankfully she happened to be my best friend. 

Conflicting course schedules meant we didn't see much of each other, I fell in with few groups, mainly the 'grunge' corner which was odd as I spent most my weekends in house and garage clubs like the Hacienda. Briefly I dated a blooming lovely chap with long red dread locks (Morph) and he came with a friend (Moose) who was incredibly hard not to simply love. College was good. I spent a year there then moved on to complete my A-levels.

A decade later I took a job in the clinical audit department of my local hospital, ten minutes walk from my door, a creche for my daughter and a flexible working hours scheme. Perfect. I was to share an office with Sally and Victoria, Victoria will recall how I was that 'friendly' we had no option but to become friends. (I think she was a tad unsure about the prospect at the time).

A year or so later and we are meeting up outside of work with our children in a park close to Victoria's house, she was bringing her closest friend and her children. And so that is how I met Nicky. Again. (Formerly known as Moose). Many years have passed and I was welcomed into their friendship groups, attending Bonfire Night parties, Grand National day (Ladies day attire essential) and of course the now tradition of Gingerbread House Building Day. I have watched their children grow up, they have welcomed Fenner into the fold and THEY forced me to Glastonbury (been going ever since).

I am lucky to know them all.

Just after Christmas Nicky messaged me to suggest we take Victoria away for the weekend, somewhere fun where she can relax as the last few years have brought some very unwelcome changes to their lives. And so we found a hut. In a wood. In the Lake District.

And here we are, huddled by the stove in the small living space/cabin, sheltering from the cold wind and rain. Winding down and making plans for the rest of the weekend. In between trips to the outdoor loo, which of course Nicky and Victoria HAVE to go together. 

I am enjoying being the bravest.

S

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.