Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie conquers the Crags

Julie came to pick up Archie about 10am - and he went even crazier than normal when she arrived. I think it's because either:
a) he loves her
b) she texts, so I know she's about to arrive and I tell him, and he's up at the window, a-quiver with anticipation. And ten minutes of anticipation is a long time in a dog's life
c) a combination of both

On such a beautiful day, she planned to go a big walk. Her brother was visiting, so he was keen to do some sight-seeing too. They went up the Crags! She did keep Archie on the lead along the edge - that's a sheer drop!

We've been up there many times, but not since my knees went. It's a great walk and we always brought dragged visitors there for the views. But I don't think I'll ever be up there with Archie, so I'm glad he's done it. I'm presuming that dogs actually notice when they go on a scenic walk.

I got a couple of buses and headed out of town to meet up with my brother and sis in law. A bit of family gossip, sport talk (my brother cannot bear to watch the Scotland rugby team. Or indeed Andy Murray - too stressful!) and where to go on holiday that's safe. My sis ruled out just about everywhere in the world, and is content to fiddle about in her garden, only having acquired one since her retirement a year or so ago.

My sis gave me some home made tablet. What divine stuff that is. And it cannot be 200 calories a bite. That's just too cruel.

I think the hard work JR did in the gym might just be negated by that teensie bit of tablet she sampled... Life's not fair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.