AMK49

By AMK49

That Wanaka Tree!

This was our last day in this delightful town and having heard so much about the famous tree I joined a group of other hopefuls ( most of them with tripods and fancy cameras) at 7 am waiting for the sun to rise. It was all looking good with a lovely glow on the mountains but unfortunately before the sun's rays could reach the tree a thick band of cloud obscured the sun and this was the best I could do. I wasn't disappointed - I loved watching the roosting birds setting off low over the water one at a time, there were people swimming in the lake and others in kayaks. People walking dogs around the lake - it was so lovely to be out at that time of the morning and be warm - if I ever win the lottery I will spend November to February in Wanaka!
Leaving Wanaka I stopped beside the golf course and had a short walk to marvel at the views - another reason to come here!
We then set off for our next stop - a farm stay near Five Rivers and were treated to a tour of the farm with cattle, sheep and deer and to round it off watched the farm dogs giving an excellent demonstration of sheep handling. I have often watched collies at work but we were also shown one of the Huntaways working - I took a photo of it as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.