Moon shot

OK, so after extolling Keswick's virtues at great length on Sunday during Hannah's birthday tea, maybe I shouldn't have been surprised when my casual suggestion that we pop up there, this afternoon, received an enthusiastic response from Dan and Abi. (Well, that is to say that Abi wasn't actually strongly against the idea, which counts as enthusiasm from her.)

I've been trying to take an afternoon off for a while but today it all worked out and just before one o'clock, the three of us set off in the girls' car, cutting up from from Kirkby, through Old Town, up along the east shore of Killington Reservoir, to pick up the M6 at junction 37. 

I'm pleased to say that Keswick didn't let me down. We had a very nice lunch in Mungo's Deli and then went around the shops looking for a coat for Dan (although an hour later we ended up back in the first shop, where he'd set his heart on a jacket that was the right distance along the axis between stylish and functional). We celebrated our shopping success with coffee and cake in a tea room that was actually in the process of closing but which took pity on us. Hooray for Keswick!

I took this shot as we were walking back to the car. I love seeing the moon in a blue sky. For a long time I thought it was because it reminded me of the cover of my dad's copy of Arthur C Clarke's 'Imperial Earth' but when I found it again a while back, the cover is actually the earth on a black background. Maybe I'm confusing it with something else :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.