'The Little Lighthouse that Moved'

A busy day today....a trip into town to get a few bits and pieces....then home to make a Birthday cake for Simon. ( introduced him to you last year on his Birthday 20th)

We decided to drive home via the South Downs.....I didn't have my camera with me, but Pete came to the rescue...I prefer my own little camera.
This is the dramatic site of Belle Tout Lighthouse at Beachy Head. Built in 1834 it was originally situated forty metres from the cliff edge...but years of sea erosion resulted with it being dangerously near the edge. In 1999 it was moved back....lifted,put on runners and dragged back 50 metres.

Now used as a Bed and Breakfast..what a place to stay with stunning views.

In 1935 King George V and Queen Mary visited...during the time that King George was convalescing in Eastbourne. It is quoted that when Queen Mary was climbing the stairs she told the King not to go ..he said "Dammit I'm going up"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.