But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Tour of East Lothian.

It was a day of doing penance to the Musselburgh Roads Cycle Club, of which I am a member, by standing in the cold wind on top of the highest hill in East Lothian – Redstone Rigg. The occasion was the annual audax run by the club known as “The Tour of East Lothian” and my mission was to stamp the riders’ route cards as proof that they didn’t take any short cuts. The climb up the Rigg is fairly serious but, what many riders don’t appreciate is that it saps your strength i preparation for the following undulating section, and then, particularly today, there is a stiff headwind for the return leg on exposed roads. I would dearly have liked to ridden myself, but my fitness isn’t up to it just yet and cinema duties don’t leave enough hours free on a Sunday for this sort of caper.
 
It was good to be working with an old friend who I haven’t seen since he was badly injured in an accident three years ago; he’ll never fully recover but he is far better than I imagined he would ever be. He’s managed thirty mile cycle rides on local minor roads and makes good use of an exercise bike though he’s a little unsteady on his feet. At least he is in a position where he can continue to make improvements.

The blip is of the first rider to reach us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.