Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

An Apology

... to the gods I upset yesterday.
You can't deny the beauty of a raindrop!

This morning the sun shone and looking at the driveway up to the house, I realised it was time to cut the grass. As we live in an A.N.O.B, the criteria for an access road to the house and for parking for the cottages in front, was that it was done with as little visible damage to the green space as possible ie invisible. The two cement strips that run up the drive have been sown thickly with tough use grass and the verges have had seed added to the existing habitat that was previously grazed field. Nobody told me it would be my job to cut it!

I don't mind really. At least I can cut the essential and leave most of the wild flowers untouched. There are many coming up and I wouldn't expect a man in a hurry to be selective with the strimmer head. Although I have to take most of the sea of nettles out I try to leave as many as will not be in the way. They are a nuisance to some, but essential to the environment. My neighbours may not agree, but they aren't cutting it!

All was well until I caught the end of the strimmer with a few nettles too many. A chunk of them wrapped around and jammed the head. Something revolving, woman talk, must have disengaged from the spinning bit, more woman talk. The result is a mess with half the drive looking good but the lower section remains untouched.

Can someone explain why I, as a woman can use a strimmer but can't fix the damn thing and why I can never find a man that is able when I want one!

Tomorrows going to be costly!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.