Abutilon flowers

The sun has been shining all day and I escaped from the house mid-morning and went down to the river.  I had it in mind to look for a kingfisher as in my recent travels I'd seen many and differing types of them. They seemed to be very common and happier to be close to people.

Sadly I didn't spot any and when I looked at the site of their former nests on the high sandy bank of the river, there were none of the obvious signs of their presence. The white-throated dippers were present however which did make up for it and I spent a while watching them flying up and down the river and carrying material to make a nest in their usual spot.

The pictures I took weren't very good because the river is still quite dark despite the overhanging trees having no leaves yet. I will have to target a better spot for photography there, so I can catch them in flight or in their underwater endeavours.

So I came home and sat in the very warm sunny cabin and snapped a picture of the Abutilon flowers which are still blooming after many months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.