Ditch the dog.

You may already know from previous blips that my friend and I are in training for the moonwalk in edinburgh in june in aid of breast cancer.

I've been following a training plan i found on the website and today saw me and my faithful hound david walk for five miles.

My other faithful hound left this earth in september and i miss his youth for long walks cos he could walk for miles and quite quickly.

David has shorter legs and is also getting on a bit himself so we're limited to pace. He also has a little heart murmur so i don't want him to over do it.

We've built our training up, me and Dave, and we are averaging 3.4 miles per hour. We started with two miles, four miles and today 5 miles and all averaging 3.4 miles per hour so we've done ok. The thing is, i don't think Dave will go over 3.4 miles per hour due to his size, age and heart murmer.

I daren't take him any further than the 5 miles but i need to uncrease my speed, which i think i could do without a little dog stopping for toilets and sniffs.

Whilst i will miss his company on my longer walks i think i must accept that it is time especially for longer walks to ditch the dog!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.