Artminx

By Artminx

Ham & Jam

I was born in Preston. I went to college in Preston. But from my mid teens I preferred Manchester, discovering it was only a bus and a train journey away and had so much more to offer. On the day I passed my driving test the instructor dropped me back home,  I drove my little red mini out of the garage and headed to my dad's work to tell him the good news. I remember circling the large car park, tooting my horn and waiting for him to appear at his first floor office window. Then I headed to college to meet my friends as their classes finished. An hour later I was on the M61 and heading to Manchester all alone. From that day on for the next year I think I spent most nights there.

Today I found myself in Preston and yet again I am disappointed. Preston has SO much potential it could be a lovely little city but its just a bit drab, a bit sad. I had a pootle around Waterstones whilst my daughter tried a new arts class (some musical theatre style I think), moved my car so as not to get a ticket and then wandered around looking for a quick decent coffee.

And I found Ham & Jam. A light bright joyful caffeine filled oasis (right by The Guild Hall). The owner was so lovely and chatty, I ordered a coffee to go and a caramel slice treat for Mia. All smug and happy I left, safe in the knowledge that this will now be my Saturday treat, with a good book.

S

(The coffee was blooming delicious too)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.