photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 62 of 366 - St Nicholas Church!

Today's image was taken in the town of Kenilworth. It is a view of St Nicholas Church. The beginnings of this Grade I listed building dates back to the late 13th Century. The Tower and the Nave were added sometime between 1320 and 1400. The were numerous later additions and alterations to both the inside and outside of the church during the 19th and 20th centuries. Due to being so near to Kenilworth castle this local parish church has have plenty of very notable worshippers. The most famous probably being Queen Elizabeth I, during her visits to the castle which was owned at the time by Robert Dudley, one of the Queen's favourite courtiers.

The photo was taken using the App ExposerGL on my iPhone 6.

First I used the app Lightroom to edit the image. I straightened and cropped the image. I then changed the white balance and applied a little extra saturation and vibrance. I also applied a little noise reduction. I then used DistressedFX to apply the Stirred overlay and Sentiment texture. I flattened the image then applied the Trio Birds overlay and the Lade texture. Finally I used the app PhotoToaster to add the Tuneup filter, Drama FX, a medium dark vignette, the Old Paper texture and the Parchment frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.