The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Through the weird window

Steve's sister Rosie came over for lunch, and we headed off to the Amberley Inn on the side of Minchinhampton common. The bar was about to be visited by some folk musicians, so we were moved to the restaurant, which suited us fine as it was far brighter and more spacious than I'd remembered. We all had goat's cheese salad, then Steve and I had posh fish and chips and Rosie had veggie fajitas. Most of the menu is gluten free. I've fallen off the wagon lately and suffered because of it. Time to climb back on.

I also finished two books today. One was 'Room at the top' by John Braine. It hit me with same bleak and Northern punch in the guts as Stan Barstow's 1960s novel, A Kind of Loving. I almost want to go straight on to another of the same type because the writing is so string, the emotion so direct. But my house is full of books. I cannot buy any more.

I have played with shot of the window in the pub, as I am learning how to use a phone app called photo director. The internal wall and window between the two parts of the restaurant seems once to have been an external wall. I've given it a mirror image. Also made it darker, it was not really as gloomy as this at lunchtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.