Tulips

Starting the week with my normal sort of flower pic - purely a record of what it looks like - I am determined by the end of the week to achieve something a bit more imaginative! I am inspired by Ingeborg's lovely flower shots, especially tulips as they die. I do not have much artistic imagination and find adding textures or backgrounds a mystery - but I am going to have a go!
I started off with just one bloom (I have five of them) taken against a plain background of a piece of mounting board in the sunlit conservatory. The 'profile' was taken on manual with the 18-70mm lens  set at ISO 200, f8, 1/80sec. For the 'down the flower' shot I wanted to get both the edges of the petals and the stamens sharp if possible. I was using my 105mm macro lens and stopped it down as far as possible which was f45, resulting in an exposure of 2seconds with the ISO still at 200 - on a tripod, of course! I am quite pleased with the result.
As the week progresses and the flowers open further then wilt I shall try to capture different images so you may well see several tulip pics in a row - well it makes a change from dogs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.