Daytime

K was right, the beds are uncomfortable!

But I opened the blind and blue sky and sun greeted me and the view, across the East London Mosque as far as St Paul's.  

And then we set off to Brixton via breakfast in the Cafe.  Brixton was for our team building morning, making chocolate.  It was interesting and pretty calorific. 

And then it was off to France!  I had over an hour in St Pancras.  Enough time for lunch in Searcy's champagne bar.  Burger and champagne!

The Eurostar was great and the choice to change seats proved to be a good decision.  There were only 5 of us in the carriage and plenty of room. The train arrived in Lille bang on time and a short walk to Lille Flandres, a wee panic trying to recupere the ticket and then on to Arras, on a very busy commuter train.

I was met by C and J-P and two of their grandchildren, Tom and Lilou and then to N's and D and P.  

We had a lovely catch up and despite my other panic about forgetting my French it did come back slowly.  Meat fondue and chips and salad and some of my chocolates.  Great!

It's good to be back in France after 5 and a half years. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.