Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Day 281: - Happy 100th Harold

Today is the 100th anniversary of Harold Wilson's birth - I had a chance to nip down to photograph his statue outside the railway station - someone had kindly given him a town scarf but there were no balloons or other festivities. I suspect he'd approve.

He is the most famous alumnus of Royds Hall school (other than my daughter of course, although she's an alumna for the pedants out there) and probably Huddersfield's most famous son. Much a part of my childhood - mainly via Mike Yarwood, and it's strange to think he wasn't much older at the time than I am now. Happy Birthday Harold, I hope you're smoking your pipe and not too cross with the state of the country. Or Huddersfield Town. 

Back to the letters now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.