My life, my lens

By JennyRampling

Orbit Tower

Just back from an amazing day at the Olympic Stadium. This was our first large scale rehearsal with lots of the different groups coming together at the same time. The park was also really busy with various volunteers in the final stages of training. After taking 45 minutes to get through the new and improved military security and the normal waiting around we started rehearsing at about 10.30. The rain was bucketing down so everyone was togged up with our sexy plastic ponchos.

We managed to do two full runs and worked again on the transition. Every section of the ceremony has also had to cut some time off due to worries about the length and this has meant all of our cues have changed. There is still so much to do and only 13 days left! We finished our section rehearsal at lunchtime but we stayed to watch the WMW and NHS rehearsal. They look amazing and I really hope the media get behind the show soon as everyone has worked so hard. The scale of the operation is incredible and the creative team are working day and night to pull everything together. We are also batterling with dreadful weather conditions which make the staging slippery and dangerous.

I love every minute of being part of this process. I also had some great news today as my lovely friend Alex who I met in my section is going to let me have one of her tickets so my Dad can attend as well as Mum and Matt. It was such a selfless act and really touched me as she could have given it to anyone or sold it. A great day!


Orbit Tower, Olympic Park, Stratford

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.