Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

It's not alright Jack.

The world at the moment is a very unhappy place. Donald Trump, Syria, the Brexit vote, this disastrous Government that seems intent on inverting the Robin Hood philosophy and stealing from the poor to give to the rich. I do tend to have opinions on such matters and I am quite combative. It's in my nature and my upbringing. But I believe passionately in society, in sharing wealth, in a civilised infrastructure of culture, welfare, public transport and community. The world is a better place if we work together and I hate the I'm Alright Jack philosophy of the tories. 

I also believe in respect, on a very fundamental level. That is, people showing each other respect in the way they talk and act towards one another. Passion about politics and differences of opinion doesn't preclude people behaving decently towards one another. People shouldn't act like politicians at Prime Minister's Question Time.

So I feel let down tonight, and particularly angry at the obscenities in yesterday's budget. But I'm going to be philosophical about it because there are bigger issues. And what bothers me most at the moment is not the small stuff but the bigger issue of how I can contribute to making the world a better place. I've given up my charity responsibilities and local community groups after five years and I need something to fill the void...Because I believe in giving something back to society...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.