Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Yorkshire aid**

Today has been more fab than sad.
I called in after school to see my girl and the dwarves, listened to Jamie doing his keyboard practice... what a difference since last time :-) and as always enjoyed being there and seeing how grown up they both are becoming, no more the dependant toddlers, very much young peeps learning how to be ace people. Jamie went off to the shop to buy much needed biscuits. Very grown up!



**Back in November my daughter went out to Lesvos as a volunteer to do what she could to help in this horrendous situation that is the migration of refugees from war torn Syria. These people are still suffering the absolute worst of situations, their only wish/hope is for a place of safety until such time as they are able to go home and rebuild their lives. The risks they are taking to find a safe place for themselves and their children are huge. I can not for one moment fully grasp what they have had to endure. My heart breaks at the thought.

My effort to try and help is to transport donated items... Clothes, bedding, tents, shoes, toys, nappies and medical supplies to collection points. I have made 4 drops to my lovely friend Musrrat at Refugee Aid 786
in Huddersfield and then today -due to lack of fuel and time- I dropped at Yorkshire Aid in Leeds where I met Leigh who was working alone sorting through the heaps of donated goods. She told me what the current situation is in Greece and on the islands, I despair, I am embarrassed to be breathing the same air as those carrying out this despicable act of removal and detention.
What has happened to human rights?
All the rules are being broken/trashed and the Governments are standing by and letting this happen. ...again
Never again we say, yet every time we let it happen and once more we say never again! So tell me WHY IS IT HAPPENING AGAIN?
It is ALL about money and who will pay the most for the arms to kill the innocent people.

Yes, it makes me feel sick to know that the perpetrators of these crimes breathe the same air as me and my family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.