Lali's World

By Lali

Embedded shells

This house fascinates me. It has the oustide wall with shells embedded all around it. I came across it the other day as I was walking towards the coastal path to Pittenweem. I have added two more photos in the extras so you can see it in more detail.

I believe in the past, some houses had shells embedded in their walls as a protection against witchcraft. I can't remember the explanation for it though.... However, I believe that this house has the shells for a decorative purpose only.

Work was very busy today. I managed to get through it although I was not particularly in the mood. Today I was informed by my mother that one of my aunties has passed away. She had been ill in hospital for quite a while and her health was very delicate. She was in her late eighties. May she rest in peace...

Getting ready for a busy Easter weekend at work. I'll go to bed early as I have to start early tomorrow.

Thanks very much for all you lovely comments and stars. I hope you all had a good day and enjoy the Easter break! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.