It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Dear Green

It had been a busy week, with Friday ending in a late night. It had been my wee pal Ola's birthday on Friday and we had a lovely time but the alarm clock went off too early on Saturday. Rosemary was heading for an all day recce for a race she's organising and I was going out for a bike ride.
 
It was the first outing of the year for my good bike, which was resplendent with its new tyres, Schwalbe One's! I wasn't feeling the best in my head but the legs seemed ok and so it was to prove. I was to average 32km.h for 90 mins which was really good for me.
 
I stopped at Bread Share at the foot of the walk for ehhhh, bread and a wee slice of apple cake. After that, I spoke with Simone for an hour about her trip to Mallorca etc and then fell asleep for the rest of the afternoon. I had loads of jobs to do too and failed miserably in that regard.
 
I new Rosemary would be exhausted when she got home, so I set about making a nice dinner. I had planned to do a wee shopping but had to do some invention test with what was in the house instead. I noticed gram flour so decided to do broccoli pakora  and spicy rice, with a few other accoutrements. It was well received by a very tired lady!
 
I was up early on Sunday morning, leaving R to sleep. I wanted to stay in bed too but had coaching stuff and a report to write. When the finer half arose, we had brekkie and then cleaned the bikes, pretty mucky ones too. Then it was off to see what the Tiso store looked like after a facelift and there were promises of bargains too. Unfortunately, the builders had failed to give the staff well needed facelifts too, as they all looked miserable and bargains were not to be had!
 
The plan had been for me to go up to Brew Lab to get coffee, but on Rosemary's suggestion we tried a wee shop down by the Shore who had coffee from Glasgow roasters Dear Green. Result.  Then it was off to the Roseleaf for lunch. I knew Jonny and Lynn were in Australia but Martin was running the show today. It's nice to have old friends running the best pub in Edinburgh if you fancy an honest, tasty but quirky lunch.  I had the Roseleaf veggie breakfast with a homemade tattie scone n haggis. Delicious. The pudding was great too, a chocolate fondant with vanilla ice cream and mango sorbet!
 

It was a bit of a task then to do the weekly shop and walk home and I was struggling when we got there. Perfect excuse for an evening on the sofa!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.