Yealand Conyers

I think I first came across the name of this place twenty-five years ago, not long after I'd moved up here. There are lots of odd place names around but this one struck me as particularly strange for some reason.

I don't think I'd ever had cause to visit it until a few years ago when Dan went to a party in Beetham. It was one of those children's parties that was just a couple of hours long but it was far enough away from home to mean it wasn't worth going back and coming out again.

I can't remember what Hannelie and Abi opted to do - maybe go for a mooch and tea at the nurseries - but I took the opportunity to go for a long run. I can't remember the route exactly but I know it was thirteen miles long.

Or it would have been if, at some point, I hadn't become lost. But then, happily, I did see a sign to Yealand Conyers and so I headed there and then down onto the A6 and back to Beetham. It was a shade over fourteen miles in the end, the furthest I've ever run. (So far.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.