Eindhoven

One of my birthday presents from the Minx was a trip to Eindhoven together*.

I don't seem to have had many 'normal' holidays over the last fifteen or so years, although there was a time before that when me and my brother used to take the girls away to Cornwall every summer. And then there was that great family fortnight in Turkey in 2006.

But my long weekends away with the Minx are more appealing to me than a traditional holiday, and I loved it last year when we took Dan and the miniMinx away with us, too, and had the three days in the bus. But usually it's just the two of us, wandering around somewhere new, maybe doing a bit of writing and drawing, and finding interesting places to eat and drink.

Today we left Manchester in rather blustery conditions - we paused on the runway to let a storm pass - but it was very pleasant when we arrived in Eindhoven, took the bus to the railway station, and then walked to our Air BnB. The Minx is a far better planner than me; she'd already walked the route on Street View, and had an idea of places we might eat and drink.

We ended up in a restaurant, with our books, and eating a three course meal, chatting occasionally before taking a stroll around De Bergen, checking out bars where we might have a drink tomorrow evening.

*This was supposed to be after Dan and Abi had headed off to South Africa but I got the dates wrong :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.