Kiss Me, Hardy

I quite liked this painting depicting The Death of Nelson, so did this man who moved into my line of vision...sigh.

I went to the Walker Art Gallery in Liverpool today to see the Pre-Raphaelites...Beauty and Rebellion exhibition. It was interesting, but I started with a really bad headache and didn't appreciate it fully. Thank goodness I only paid half price with my Art Fund pass, because I was only half healthy. A couple of pills over lunch eased it, but I think I need more now. An early night methinks.

As I was looking at Edward Coley Burne-Jones's The Beguiling of Merlin, a couple sat down next to me. It is a huge painting and I was quite taken with it. It is heavy on blues, purples and greens and I was breathing in a bit of culture when the woman next to me said, "Do you think he ran out of red?" If my head wasn't banging I think I would have laughed out loud. "Out of red?" the man next to her squawked. "Well look at his lips and his cheeks." Her paint palette definitely isn't cultured!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.