Man Traps and Heathen bells

The Deer Abbey ruins finally caught my eye today during my weekly drive by, so much so that I did a quick u-turn and took a sneaky peak at the silently hiding, stubbornly standing walls within walls.

It was so very quiet, silent even and all around was beautifully lit by the best of what Spring has to offer; dazzling sunshine, daffodil yellows and lush greens. I was the only one there which would have been lovely but for some inexplicable and daft reason, something felt a wee bit off, more than a wee bit odd and I was a big bit wishing I had some company. I had the overwhelming feeling I should leave immediately. I don't usually get big Jessie moments but I was definitely having one as I stood looking at the ruins. I was about to back out when I caught sight of the Man Trap. Those monks can't have liked poachers much. In fact those monks didn't like monks much going by what the board said about the history and infighting. It was during this brief distraction from being a big daft fearty that I suddenly heard this bell ring out, not so much a church bell but a clanging clattering bell, as if a massive cow bell was being hit over and over. It was coming from the ruin but there was nobody there. Trying and failing to act casual, I sidled back to the walled entrance. I'd been in less than 5 minutes and let my imagination get carried away with me. The bell was no doubt being rung from a nearby farm and carried on the wind (what wind!!??) or someone playing tricks....or maybe, just maybe, some stubborn centuries old monks down in the crypts (there are probably no crypts Elaine!) don't like heathens visiting on an Easter Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.