Bird Man

I went over to Lickey today to see my friend John. We went to Longbridge for lunch at The Cambridge, part of the Hungry Horse chain, followed by coffee at Costa.

Later this afternoon we went to the Lickey Hills to have a walk around. Near the visitor centre is a saw-mill where I saw this sculpture leaning against the side of the shed. A bit of research on t'net and I discovered the information that this is Bird Man who was part of the Lickey Hills sculpture trail in 1995. I also found a photo of him on a blog called Magpie Angel. These are the words she used to describe him - I wish I could fly away. But like me the Bird Man has to stay…his left arm has been broken off and he cannot fly anyway. I feel like it’s a painful sculpture – not a particularly happy image…much how I feel right now. The crack in the wood looks like a scar. How life scars us when we are dealt emotional blows. And yet still we must endure them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.