Plus ça change...

By SooB

Las Dos Amigas

A blip-censor approved shot of the two best pals.  A packed up her case this morning (with a little help from me after a brief panic about pyjamas) and we bid her a fond farewell at school.  I was working in the school office, and did consider hanging around until 10.30 when I knew her bus was leaving for the airport, but that seemed overly sentimental, so I didn't.  And I'm glad I didn't in the end.  When TallGirl came out for lunch 2 hours later she was very upset: apparently they'd all been bawling when the bus went "even some of the boys"; which wasn't helped by their chemistry teacher going back on a promise to move their test to another day.

A very despondent TallGirl then.  Our new Spanish friend fit in very well, and we will all miss her.  I happened to have the calendar out and discretely counted the days until TallGirl's return visit to Cadiz:

"It's only 61 days until you'll see her again"

"I know" (she sobbed - having evidently already counted...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.