Roll With It

By Falmike

Life In A Goldfish Bowl

I missed an anniversary yesterday; nine years ago I left the Navy.
Do I miss it?
I didn't think I did but I guess I better understand the term "institutionalised".
The services give you a 'code' or system to live by, you make immediate decisions based on what you see, know, understand and your experience. The commercial world can take months to make the simplest of decisions.
In the services you are trained to lead, often in the worst of circumstances, by example, in the commercial world 'managers' are more concerned about keeping clear of trouble than doing what is right. Commercially it's about the company car, mobile telephone, size of office etc.
So do I miss it, yes I guess I do, would I do it again, yes I would, would I go back now, NO, not a chance.
It's 16 days until we fly off for our holiday in California, I can honestly say I have not looked forward to a holiday so much for a long time.
The new kitchen is installed we just need the builder/painter decorator in whilst we are away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.