Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Mr Pelican thwarts Lady M!

I was up early for my morning walk, but it was not to be. The shower turned into a torrent and went on and on. Morning walk abandoned.

When the rain stopped, as it usually does, we went to check out the marina, on the way north. The marina is great - loads of cafes and restaurants, although I was disappointed to hear one cafe's muzak being broadcast out into the outdoor area. Why would anyone want to listen to muzak while sitting in peace and quiet looking out on a harbour? Even the large scones did not tempt me to stay!

But there was a large pelican who was across the water on another wee pier. I took photos from afar. But no! He's spotted us. He's coming towards us!

Sure enough, he flopped in the water and hurried across to us. I liked this shot because of the waves, and the crazy reflection. He thought we had food, presumably. He was fantastic, and stood waving his big beak around, gazing at us with one huge eye, then the other huge eye. It must be very awkward to have a schnozzle that size and weight.

I really really wanted to get a photo of him flying low across the water, and I waited ages, both of us watching each other's every move. I gave up first and went back to the car. Of course, that's when he took off and swept low across the water complete with reflection on the glassy water (sigh), then banked high and swooped in for another go. I rushed over to the pier, hoping to catch him gliding around, but he was nowhere to be seen. I looked everywhere. Then I heard a scuffling and flapping. He was sitting away up on the lamp post just behind me! Smirking. I had to give up again waiting for him to fly down. Another thing I must get a photo of!

We went to Cooroy, popping up one of the mountain viewpoints. These mountains are amazing volcanic plugs, about 3/400 metres high, straight up out of the flat ground. Will go south and visit the Glass House Mountains, where there are more of them clustered together.

Also stopped at Pomona for a look around, and then into the Botanic Gardens. The whole area is like a botanic garden, actually, but these gardens are by a big lake, Noosa's water supply. The rain that had been threatening all morning then came. But not before I had a look at the fancy amphitheatre looking out over the lake with lovely water lilies. They perform opera there, apparently.

It really poured for the rest of the day, so we came back to our luxury abode to relax and plan next week's expeditions, as they say the weather is clearing by then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.