A Terrible Tourist Trap

The signs on the expressway lure you in. FLORIDA ORANGES...GEORGIA PECANS...13 FOOT GATOR.

Why did I stop? I wanted to see if they had removed the gator heads. Obviously, they have not.

There are on sale from 15 dollars up to 80 dollars. They are farm-raised in Louisiana. Can you imagine the conversation that took place between the two rednecks, gentlemen, guys years ago?

"Hey Wilbur, do you think if we raised some alligators, chopped their heads off, and dried them out...that tourists would buy them?"

"Ya know Daryl, I think you may be on to something...let's go wrassle us up come gators."

Deplorable...despicable...disheartening...and dumb. When I get home, I'm going to e-mail the tourist trap, and at least tell them that I never will be stopping there again...until the gators are gone.

We missed our departure deadline of 9 a.m. (too much to be done), and didn't leave our Florida place until 11. We drove 583 miles, and are spending the night in Dalton, Georgia, the carpet capitol of the United States.

Catch up when I get home. Too tired to type.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.