Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Skiving

A week or so ago, Virgin Media rang me to say they were offering me more TV channels and doubling my wifi speed. We've been with them for 15 years, so I assumed it was a goodwill gesture and readily accepted their largesse. Then written confirmation of the new 'package' arrived, which - unusually - I actually read. And down the bottom, I spied that after 6 months, I will pay another £20 a month! What a cheek, no extra cost was mentioned in the phone call! Needless to say, I've cancelled it and rang them to make sure.

Yesterday I walked to the swimming pool, intending to cancel my membership. I stopped, I pondered, and I returned home. 'I should really keep on swimming', I told myself. I haven't been since before my operation. I decided to give it another go. And so today, I thought about going. But I stayed home and read my book instead. And felt a bit guilty. Which of course makes skiving more enjoyable.

Took Archie round to the Links for an off-the-lead run around. The new very tasty 'Come!' treats that worked yesterday had no effect whatsoever! He completely ignored my calls and went off blissfully smelling delightful smells instead. Hmmm. Though he never strays far.

I've been playing with the wee iPhone lenses I bought ages ago for about £3. But I wanted a more usable setup, and I was tempted by a rather expensive set in the Apple shop the other day. Today I found the very same lenses for a fraction of the price. Fingers crossed it's not some ripoff site...

So here's Archie fish-eyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.